L&T Motorsport

Bathurst 1000 Top 10 shootout report

Scott McLaughlin has secured pole position for the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 with a record breaking lap time in the top 10 shootout.

The kiwi was last to run after gaining provisional pole position in the Friday qualifying session and put the track advantage to good use.

McLaughlin set a lap time of 2:03.83, faster than anyone has ever taken a Supercar around Mount Panorama and almost 0.5 of a second ahead of David Reynolds in second place.

Mark Winterbottom in the #5 Prodrive Racing Australia Ford Falcon qualified third ahead of teammate Chaz Mostert in fourth and Shane Van Gisbergen in fifth.

The Red Bull Holden Racing Team driver was able to overcome difficulties earlier in the weekend to be inside the top 5 with teammate Jamie Whincup in 11th and Craig Lowndes down in 19th.

The Sandown 500 winner Cam Waters finished the session in sixth place ahead of polesitter McLaughlin’s teammate Fabian Coulthard.

Eighth place belonged to the fourth Prodrive Racing Australia Ford Falcon of Jason Bright who put all of his experience to beat Garth Tander in ninth and James Courtney in 10th.

On a weekend where Courtney’s Walkinshaw Racing team was announced as merging with Andretti Autosport and United Autosports for the 2018 season, 10th place was an improved result compared to recent form for the team.

The Bathurst 1000 takes place at 11:10am local time and with rain forecast at an 80% chance, it is looking to be the most exciting edition of the Great Race yet.

Article by Adam Ashmore (@GeorgeAshmore_)

%d bloggers like this: