L&T Motorsport

Berlin ePrix preview

Berlin’s Templelhof airport will once again host Formula E racing next weekend. The first of three double-header events, every point scored could prove crucial to deciding the drivers’ title.

Several drivers face missing races in the final weekends (in New York and Montreal) due to contractual agreements with the World Endurance Championship. Current championship leader Sébastien Buemi is among them, although he recently hinted that he may be able to race depending on results in the WEC. Double-headers also puts greater pressure on teams to get their cars’ setups just right — and there’s less time for major repairs in the event of an accident.

Lucas di Grassi trails Buemi by 44 points going into the weekend, so although it’s improbable that he’ll overtake Renault’s driver in the standings, he must take every opportunity to close the gap.

 

Track back

The airfield at the former Tempelhof airport provides a blank canvass for track designers to work with. This year’s circuit will feature a significantly different layout to the ePrix held in 2015. For a start, it’s a much cleaner looking layout, with six fewer corners. Turn one, a long left-handed “roundabout” bend, is quickly followed by two 90° right-handers. After that, the track is characterised by long, sweeping straights and sharp bends, which look ideal for overtaking opportunities.

 

When to watch

The timetable is the same for Saturday and Sunday: qualifying starts at 12 noon local time (6am Eastern / 11am UK) followed by the race at 4pm local (10am Eastern / 3pm UK).

 

Image: Tempelhof airport terminal ahead of the 2015 Berlin ePrix © Formula E

Steve Boswell

Steve is a keen follower of Formula E, having taken an interest in the all-electric series since the prototype cars were first revealed. He follows the series from his adopted hometown of Sheffield, England's greenest city.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: