L&T Motorsport



Nyck De Vries comfortably led every lap after overtaking Johnny Cecotto around the outside at Sainte Devote. At one point, the gap was 12 seconds!

Johnny Cecotto finished 2nd after starting in reverse grid pole. However, the Venezuelan had wheelspin at the start which gave the opportunity to De Vries.

Gustav Malja finished a strong 3rd after some great defensive work from the Swede keeping Luca Ghiotto behind him.

Ghiotto tried all his best in the final few laps but couldn’t get on the podium. Ghiotto’s teammate Artem Markelov was close behind in 5th position but a typical Monte Carlo race meant that there was a bit of a queue. However, Markelov pulled off a fantastic move on Lap 21 into Rascasse on Alexander Albon. Albon gave Markelov just enough room and contact was made but it did not ruin their race.

Nobuharu Matsushita finished a quiet 7th position but still added 2 points onto his tally of 46 points. The Japanese remains 5th in the standings.

Jordan King finished in the final points scoring position after making a move on yesterday’s race winner Oliver Rowland in the early parts of the race.

Rowland finished in 9th position but it came with some drama in the final couple of laps. Sergio Canamasas tried an audacious move into the Rascasse but got his braking completely wrong and hit into the back of the DAMS driver. Canamasas dived into the pitlane with a broken front wing and would finish well out of the top 10. Rowland decided to race on with rear wing damage and kept PREMA driver Antonio Fuoco behind him for the remainder of the race despite a photo finish.

Fuoco’s temmate Charles Leclerc would have another awful race as on Lap 4, he would try to overtake Norman Nato into the Rascasse but hit the Frenchman and Nato was forced to retire. This resulted in a 10 second time penalty. Then on lap 22, he would bring his car into the pitlane and would retire. A weekend that could’ve or should’ve been more for Leclerc but despite this, he still leads the Drivers Championship.

The Top 10

  1. Nyck De Vries- Rapax
  2. Johnny Cecotto- Rapax
  3. Gustav Malja- Racing Engineering
  4. Luca Ghiotto- RUSSIAN TIME
  5. Artem Markelov- RUSSIAN TIME
  6. Alexander Albon- ART
  7. Nobuharu Matsushita- ART
  8. Jordan King- MP Motorsport
  9. Oliver Rowland- DAMS
  10. Antonio Fuoco- PREMA

Image: http://www.fiaformula2.com

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: