L&T Motorsport

Supercars Sunday Report – Sydney Motorsport Park

Supercars Sunday Report – Sydney Motorsport Park

Sunday at Sydney morning park started with the news that both Scott McLaughlin and Shane Van Gisbergen were penalised for their role in the incident at the restart in race 17.

SVG received a 33 second time penalty, which is the equivalent of a drive through penalty, with McLaughlin receiving an extra 18 seconds on top of his 15 handed out during the race.

James Moffat also was disqualified from race 17 after an irregularity with his front splitter on the Garry Rogers Motorsport Commodore.

Qualifying – Race 18

For the 13th time in 2017, Scott McLaughlin put his DJR Team Penske Ford Falcon on pole position ahead of Chaz Mostert in the Prodrive Falcon and Jamie Whincup in the Red Bull Holden Commodore.

Qualifying was actually a dramatic session once again with Mark Winterbottom spinning Garth Tander halfway through the session whilst on a hot lap.

Alex Davison was impeded by his brother Will Davison in the Lightning McQueen Commodore costing Will 5 places on the grid.

Race 18

Once again Scott McLaughlin got off to a poor start and dropped down to fifth after the first lap with Chaz Mostert leading Jamie Whincup, Van Gisbergen and Fabian Coulthard during the first stint.

The top 5 drivers pulled away from the rest of the pack quite easily as the race settled down into the first stint with the order remaining largely unchanged.

McLaughlin came into the pits hoping to undercut a few drivers ahead to make up for the bad start with Whincup pitting the following lap.

After a major tyre blowout for Rick Kelly on the pit straight brought out the safety car whilst the marshals removed the debris from the Nissan Altima off of the circuit.

Whincup was able to move into the lead following his stop the previous lap with Mostert coming out in second and McLaughlin third.

The safety car period also brought into play a number of different strategies with Coulthard and Van Gisbergen opting to fuel long for the first stint to have a shorter stop at the end of the race with McLaughlin and Whincup putting in equal amounts.

At the next stop Van Gisbergen was initially able to jump his team mate Whincup with McLaughlin third, Coulthard fourth and Mostert fifth both of which on much fresher tyres than the top three.

SVG allowed Whincup to pass with 10 laps remaining and held onto his podium spot with Coulthard getting passed into second with McLaughlin and Mostert stuck behind the Red Bull driver at the end of the race.

Whincup’s win took him to first on the all time list of race wins in the Supercars Championship overtaking Craig Lowndes with 106 wins.

Join us next round of the Championship which is the first of the Pirtek Enduro Cup at the world famous Sandown raceway on the weekend of September 15-17.

Article by Adam Ashmore (@GeorgeAshmore_)




Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: