L&T Motorsport

The 85è Rallye Monte Carlo 2017 entry list published

The Official entry list of the Rallye Monte Carlo 2017 has been published. In whole, it contains all the driver pairings from the World Rally Championship, WRC2, WRC3, RGT and numerous independent drivers. The M-Sport’s Ford Fiestas will be driven by the 4-time world champion Sebastien Ogier, Ott Tänak and Elfyn Evans, who returns to the WRC after a brief period in the WRC2 series.


Hyundai motorsport trusts its i20s in the hand of the same trio as last year, Hayden Paddon, Thierry Neuville and Dani Sordo. Of these three, all the eyes will be on Neuville who looks to fight seriously for this year’s title after many years behind the Volkswagen cars. The Belgian already beat two out of three VW last season only falling short to Ogier and now as Volkswagen has left, even the sky isn’t the limit for Neuville.

Citroen’s return as a full team will be hosted by Kris Meeke of Ireland and the Frenchman Stéphane Lefebvre. Meeke has already scored a couple of wins in his career, and las season he found his true speed. He fell a bit short last year considering the whole season, but this year he has learned from his mistakes and hopefully won’t suffer from bad luck. If this is the case, the Irishman might come out of hibernation with instant success.cit-test17

The other returning team, Toyota, has an all-Finnish line-up in Monte Carlo. The all-new Yaris’ are driven by Jari-Matti Latvala and Juho Hänninen. Hänninen actually makes a comeback to the WRC with Toyota, as he hasn’t been seen competing at the series after Rally Finland in 2015, where he finished sixth. Latvala will no doubt want to start off well with his new team, especially as his last season was his worst in year. It was so bad in fact that he was close of falling short in the race for the last seats. Some could say his seat in WRC is all thanks to Toyota’s team boss Tommi Mäkinen.

Craig Breen and Jourdan Serderidis will also drive WRC cars in Monte Carlo, the old Citroen DS3s from last year. The entry list also exposes a rather sad fact, especially for Norwegian WRC fans. No Mads Ostberg in sight and last year’s Volkswagen driver Andreas Mikkelsen has demoted himself to WRC2, racing with Skoda Motorsport.

Craig Breen with his Citroen DS3 in Rally Finland last year.
Craig Breen with his Citroen DS3 in Rally Finland last year.

The Rallye Monte Carlo will be competed from January 19th to 22nd. For the full entry list, press here: http://planetemarcus.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/EntryList_WrcMonteCarlo17.pdf

2 thoughts on “The 85è Rallye Monte Carlo 2017 entry list published

  • 15/01/2017 at 10:59 AM

    whoa1h this blog is great i love reading your posts. Keep up the great work! You know, a lot of people are looking around for this information, you can aid them greatly.

  • 18/01/2017 at 4:17 PM

    Good post! I read your blog often and you always post excellent content. I posted this article on Facebook and my followers like it. Thanks for writing this!

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: