L&T Motorsport

Cook’s Back with Maximum Motorsport

(Photo from: www.btcc.net)

Josh Cook will be on the British Touring Car Championship grid in 2017 after agreeing a deal to drive for Maximum Motorsport in the team’s rebuilt Ford Focus. Having spent 2016 with MG it looked as though the 25 year-old would spend this season on the sidelines having announced he would be leaving the Triple Eight run team earlier this year. With the vast majority of seats taken options were low however following an injury to regular driver, and Team Principal, Stuart Lines, Cook has been bought in while Lines steps aside.

The former Jack Sears Trophy winner’s deal enables Lines time to recover after a cycling accident, who admitted the opportunity to sign Cook was one too good to miss. Following the announcement Lines said, “After my accident, we started analysing our options forthcoming campaign to allow myself enough time for recovery,” he said. “When Josh announced he was without a drive, we grasped the opportunity to sign a very capable young talent.

“I’m disappointed that I won’t be lining up on the 2017 grid, as the car has undergone a significant programme of upgrades over the winter period and is now down to a much lighter weight.

“Despite this, I am delighted we’re running Josh this season and believe we’ve got the complete package to produce some strong finishes”

This will be Cook’s third season in the BTCC having made his debut in 2015 with Power Maxed Racing in a Chevrolet Cruze. Cook and his new team are now beginning a test schedule with the team’s new livery revealed on the 16th March at Donington Park at the season launch.

2017 BTCC Entry List
West Surrey Racing 4 Colin Turkington
5 Rob Collard
Pirtek Racing 77 Andrew Jordan
Silverline Subaru Team BMR


20 James Cole
99 Jason Plato
116 Ashley Sutton

Honda Halfords Yuasa Racing

25 Matt Neal
52 Gordon Shedden
Simpson Racing 303 Matt Simpson

Power Maxed Racing

TBA Senna Proctor
TBA Tom Chilton

Triple Eight Engineering

23 Daniel Lloyd
40 Aron Taylor-Smith

Motorbase Performance

3 Mat Jackson
30 Martin Depper
300 Luke Davenport

AmD Tuning

10 Ant Whorton-Eales
48 Ollie Jackson
Handy Motorsport 11 Rob Austin
Speedworks Motorsport 80 Tom Ingram


12 Michael Epps
24 Jake Hill
TBA Will Burns
Laser Tools Racing 16 Aiden Moffat
Wix Racing 33 Adam Morgan

BTC Norlin Racing

17 Dave Newsham
22 Chris Smiley

Eurotech Racing

31 Jack Goff
55 Jeff Smith
Maximum Motorsport 66 Josh Cook
Team Parker Racing TBA Stephen Jelley


%d bloggers like this: