L&T Motorsport

Dixon takes pole at Watkins Glen!

Defending Champion, Scott Dixon took his 25th career pole after leading all three practice sessions and setting a record lap of 1:22.5259. The New Zealander sits 6th in the championship with 397 points and is still mathematically capable of winning the season.

Will Power, who sits 2nd in the championship with 501 points, qualified 2nd after he advanced to the pole deciding Firestone Fast Six session because Russian driver, Mikhail Aleshin was stripped of his two fastest qualifying laps after interference with former F1 driver, Juan Pablo Montoya in the second round.

Starting behind Dixon and Power will be KV Racing Technology’s, Sebastien Bourdais, Team Penske’s, Helio Castroneves, Chip Ganassi’ Tony Kanaan and his rookie team mate, Max Chilton making his first appearance in the Firestone Fast Six.

Championship leader, Simon Pagenaud failed to make the Firestone Fast Six for the first time all season, qualifying seventh. The Team Penske driver,

Last week’s winner, Graham Rahal will only start 20th after is fast laps of Segment 1 revoked when he, alongside James Hinchcliffe, was charged with qualifying interference, nullifying runs that would have moved them into the second segment. Hinchcliffe will start 13th.

The Grand Prix at the Glen is the penultimate round on the sixteen track schedule and will take place at 7:30 p.m. BST after a six year absence. The last race as held in 2010 and was won by Power, who now sits 28 points behind Team Penske teammate Simon Pagenaud for the series lead.

Provisional Grid

  1. Scott Dixon
  2. Will Power
  3. Sebastien Bourdais
  4. Helio Castroneves
  5. Tony Kanaan
  6. Max Chilton
  7. Simon Pagenaud
  8. Juan Pablo Montoya
  9. Jack Hawksworth
  10. Mikhail Aleshin
  11. Richard Clay Enerson
  12. Josef Newgarden
  13. James Hinchcliffe
  14. Charlie Kimball
  15. Alexander Rossi
  16. Carlos Munoz
  17. Conor Daly
  18. Marco Andretti
  19. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  20. Graham Rahal
  21. Spencer Pigot
  22. Takuma Sato


For clarification on IndyCar’s qualifying procedures see http://www.indycar.com/Fan-Info/INDYCAR-101/Understanding-The-Sport/Qualfiying-Procedures

Photo: www.indycar.com

%d bloggers like this: