L&T Motorsport

Dixon wins at Watkins Glen!

Defending Champion, Scott Dixon takes victory in Watkins Glen after being the fastest in every practice session and in qualifying. The Chip Ganassi driver dominated the Grand Prix at the Glen leading all but 10 of the 60 laps.

This is his 40th victory overall, moving the New Zealander into fourth place on the career list, and 2nd win this season. However despite his with only one round left to go he is out of the running for the championship.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s Josef Newgarden finished 2nd and ran out of fuel while crossing the line, with Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves coming in third after a late stop to refuel. Dale Coyne Racing’s Conor Daly came home 4th with KV Racing Technology’s Sebastien Bourdais rounding out the top five.

Championship leader, Simon Pagenaud finished 7th after backing off from 5th to save fuel. The Frenchman increases his lead over team mate Will Power to 43 points standings with one race remaining this season. The two drivers are the only ones left in the title fight ahead of the finale at Sonoma in two weeks time.

Power crashed on the 44th lap of the race after colliding with Chip Ganassi’s Charlie Kimball causing Power’s car to slam into the barrier side-on. After a medical assessment Power was not cleared to rejoin the race after displaying concussion like symptoms. Kimball managed to finish 6th.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Tony Kanaan set the fastest lap of the race, putting in a 1:23.9436 on lap 46.

The final round will take place in two weeks time in Sonoma, California.

Provisional Results

  1. Scott Dixon
  2. Josef Newgarden
  3. Helio Castroneves
  4. Conor Daly
  5. Sebastien Bourdais
  6. Charlie Kimball
  7. Simon Pagenaud
  8. Alexander Rossi
  9. RC Enerson
  10. Max Chilton
  11. Carlos Munoz
  12. Marco Andretti
  13. Juan Pablo Montoya
  14. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  15. Spencer Pigot
  16. Jack Hawksworth
  17. Takuma Sato
  18. James Hinchcliffe
  19. Tony Kanaan
  20. Will Power DNF
  21. Graham Rahal DNF
  22. Mikhail Aleshin DNF


For full Championship standings see http://www.indycar.com/Drivers

Photo: www.indycar.com

%d bloggers like this: