L&T Motorsport

Final race report: Herberth Motorsport Porsche takes the 24H Dubai win

The #911 Herberth Motorsport Porsche 991 GT3 R has won the 2017 24H Dubai, after a trouble free run for the car, which was finished by Robert Renauer.

He shared the Porsche with teammates Daniel Allemann, Ralf Bohn, Alfred Renauer and Porsche factory superstar Brendon Hartley, who takes a win on his debut in a GT3 Porsche.

It follows success for the team in the 24H Series last year, with wins at the 24H Barcelona and Paul Ricard among others, the team gaining a reputation for running metronomically and achieving the results.

It was a comfortable victory in the end, with a two lap advantage over the other #12 Porsche of Manthey Racing, which experienced troubles in the night after it had a collision causing damage to the left front.

It dropped down to fifth but recovered to second at the end of the race. The car was driven to the flag by Matteo Cairoli, who had shared the car with Otto Klohs, Sven Muller and Jochen Krumbach.

The race-winning #911 had a great battle at the head of the field with the #12 Manthey Racing Porsche, until the latter suffered accident damage around the 16-hour mark.
Photo: Credit to www.dailysportscar.com

Completing the podium was the #3 Black Falcon Mercedes, the sister #2 car having run in third for much of the race before it dropped down the order by virtue of a crash early in the morning. the #3 car was finished by Abdulaziz Al Faisal, who shared the Mercedes with Hubert Haupt, Yelmer Buurman, Michael Broniszewski and Maro Engel.

The #2 Black Falcon Mercedes ran third until accident damage early in the morning put it out.
Photo: Credit to Abu Dhabi Racing

In fourth position was the #14 Optimum Motorsport Audi, finished by Joe Osborne, with Thierry Cornac bringing the #76 IMSA Performance Porsche to the flag in fifth position, making it three Porsche’s in the top five for the 2017 24H Dubai.

In the A6-Am class, the #1 Hofor-Racing Mercedes AMG GT3 – which was finished by Christiaan Frankenhout – emerged victorious after leading the class for much of the race. Frankenhout shared the car with Michael Kroll, Chantal Kroll, Roland Eggimann and Kenneth Heyer, which eventually finished seventh in the overall standings.

They finished five laps ahead of the #22 Gravity Racing International Mercedes and the #27 GP Extreme Renault RS-01.

In the 991 class, Saud Al Faisal brought home a dominant win for the #68 Black Falcon Team TMD Friction Porsche cup car, four laps ahead of the PROsport Performance car, which in turn had a one-lap advantage over the race:pro motorsport entry.

In the SPX category, the #87 Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo of GDL Racing Middle East took the win by just 35 seconds from the fellow Super Trofeo Lamborghini of Leipert Motorsport.

The #87 car was piloted by Rory Penttinen, Franck Pelle, Vic Rice and Pierre Ehret. The top two Lamborghinis finished five laps ahead of the third place finisher in class, the #51 FACH AUTO TECH Porsche.

With a strong overall fourth place finish for Optimum Motorsport’s Audi, the team also had much to celebrate with a dominant win in the SP3-GT4 category, their #231 Ginetta G55 eventually finishing seven laps ahead of the Porsche Cayman of GDL Racing Team Asia. The Porsche finished just seven seconds ahead of the #229 Century Motorsport Ginetta G55.

The victorious #231 Ginetta was taken to the flag by Brit William Moore, who shared the car with Stewart Linn, Ade Barwick and Dan O’Brien.

The night lasts over 12 hours at the Dubai 24, a real challenge for all drivers and teams, particularly when fatigue sets in.
Photo: Credit to www.dailysportscar.com

In the SP2 category, the fan favourite #207 Bovi Motorsport Silver Sting machine took the win by just over two minutes from the Reiter Engineering KTM X-BOW.

This was despite the rear diffuser of the Silver Sting coming loose and being shed out on track in the dying moments of the race. Remarkably, the last time the car competed at Dubai was in the 2011 edition of the 24 hours.

The machine was brought home by Wolfgang Kaufmann, who shared the car with Kalman Bodis, Jaap van Lagen and Heino Bo Frederiksen. Completing the podium in class was the #58 VDS Racing Adventures MARC Focus V8.

In the TCR class, the #108 Audi RS3 LMS took an outstanding win on debut with a two lap advantage from the Modena Motorsport Seat Leon which had a very comfortable margin over the third position Seat Leon of Zest Racecar Engineering.

The TCR-winning Audi was shared by James Kaye, Julian Griffin, Erik Holstein and Finlay Hutchison.

 In A3, it was a commanding 1-2 from the ever-consistent Team Altran Peugeots, with the #308 car leading the #908 home with an advantage of four laps. Completing the podium was the #133 Lotus Elise Cup of PB Racing.
Meanwhile in A2, honours went the way of Team Eva Solo/K-Rejser #171 Peugeot RCZ, with a comfortable gap over the second and third place finishers in class, the Renault Clio Cup cars of Team Cooksport and Team Sally Racing 1.
Photo credit: sportscar365.com



Michael Haffenden

Second year Journalism student at the University of Kent, with a huge passion for Motorsport. Love all types of motor racing from F1 to touring cars but endurance and sportscar racing has to be my favourite. Primarily cover IMSA United SportsCars for L&T Motorsport, but can be found writing about other series, including ELMS, WEC and 24H Series races.

%d bloggers like this: