L&T Motorsport


Luca Ghiotto held off a charging Raffaele Marciello to take victory in Sepang.

The Italian led all of the race after Lap 1, turn 2 by overtaking reverse grid pole sitter Mitch Evans. He beat Raffaele Marciello by 0.7 seconds.

After yesterday’s performance, you might’ve thought that Antonio Giovinazzi might have an advantage in the championship after his win and Gasly’s poor performance but like a champion, Pierre Gasly fought back from 11th position to finish ahead of his teammate and finish on the podium in 3rd position. He finished 0.6 seconds ahead of Giovinazzi and cuts the deficit to 7 points.

One of the reason why the 2 PREMA’s finished so high up despite their low starting positions was a disastrous race from Racing Engineering. On lap 2, Jordan King hit his teammate Norman Nato which resulted in Nato spinning and retiring. Jordan King then got a 10 second penalty for the incident.

Reverse grid pole sitter Mitch Evans had a difficult race as unlike Luca Ghiotto, he could not keep up with the front runners and eventually finished in 6th position.

Gustav Malja continued his fine form with the Swede finishing in 5th position behind the 2 PREMA’s, after starting in 9th position.

After yesterday’s nightmare, Nobuharu Matsushita had a brilliant drive after starting in 20th position came home in 7th position and grabbed 2 points. His teammate however had a really tough race as he was forced to retire his car after gearbox issues.

Oliver Rowland was half a lap away from being on reverse grid pole but a spin in turn 12 ended that hope which meant he would start 12th but with all of the retirements and penalties, Rowland grabbed 1 point in 8th position ahead of Johnny Cecotto who is replacing Arthur Pic in Sepang.

Nicholas Latifi finished in 10th position after yesterday’s spin and his teammate had a really tough race finishing in 12th position.

Elsewhere Artem Markelov’s bad weekend was continuing as he had a 10 second time penalty for contact with Sergio Canamasas and the Russian eventually finished in 13th position.

The Top 10:

  1. Luca Ghiotto- Trident
  2. Raffaele Marciello- RUSSIAN TIME
  3. Pierre Gasly- PREMA
  4. Antonio Giovinazzi- PREMA
  5. Gustav Malja- Rapax
  6. Mitch Evans- Campos
  7. Nobuharu Matsushita- ART
  8. Oliver Rowland- MP Motorsport
  9. Johnny Cecotto- Rapax
  10. Nicholas Latifi- DAMS

Photo: www.gp2series.com

%d bloggers like this: