L&T Motorsport

Glory for Takuma, Disappointment for Alonso: Takuma Sato wins the Indy 500!

Takuma Sato has won the 101st Indy 500! The Japanese driver won the Indy 500 after a fantastic battle with both Max Chilton and Helio Castroneves in the closing laps.

British born Chilton, defended the lead from Sato in the closing laps before Sato was passed by Castroneves, who went on to take the lead from Chilton. The Ganassi racer then fell victim to Sato and Dubai born rookie, Ed Jones. Sato then denied Castroneves his 4th Indy 500 win by taking the lead and becoming Japan’s first Indy winner.

However the main story of this year’s Indy 500 was Fernando Alonso who was let down by Honda once again. The F1 legend put on a terrific show, leading the race several times throughout (27 laps) before retiring on 9th with a blown engine. Alonso has represented himself well in the world of IndyCar and has won the hearts of American fans as shown when he received a huge cheer from the crowd as he climbed out of his car.

Four time Champion and pole sitter, Scott Dixon was taken out by after Jay Howard lost control of his car, crashing into Dixon who then went airborne before crashing into the barrier and rolling several times leading to an 18 minute red flag. Both drivers walked away.

Reigning Champion, Simon Pagenaud finished in 14th and team mate, Joesef Newgarden, finished 19th, both drivers had a fairly uneventful race.

The result of the Indy 500 places Castroneves into 1st in the Championship, with Dixon 2nd after his DNF, with Takuma now jumping to 4th with the increased points for the Indy 500.

The double header Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix Presented by Lear Corporation will take place on Saturday and Sunday, June 3rd and 4th, 2017 at the Raceway at Belle Isle Park in Detroit, Michigan.

With Alonso returning to F1 for the Canadian Grand Prix in two weeks time, we now await the fallout from his Honda engine failure. Will McLaren hold onto him?


For full Championship standings see http://www.indycar.com/Drivers

Photo: www.indycar.com

%d bloggers like this: