L&T Motorsport


In an event featuring a Richmond record 16 cautions and a red flag, Denny Hamlin built some momentum ahead of the Chase in the final regular season race of the season by winning the Federated Auto Parts 400.

Polesitter Hamlin, and Furniture Row Racing driver Martin Truex Jr dominated most of the race, leading 189 and 193 laps respectively, but a slow pitstop and speeding penalty for Truex gave the advantage to Hamlin, who held off the in-form Kyle Larson to secure his 3rd win of the 2016 season.

Truex Jr did recover to 3rd, whilst the top 5 was rounded off by two of the favourites for the Chase, Brad Keselowski and Kevin Harvick. Kasey Kahne’s 6th place finish wasn’t enough for him to make the Chase, but Jamie McMurray’s 7th place was. The two Busch brothers were 8th and 9th, Kurt ahead of Kyle, whilst Joey Logano rounded out the top 10.

The final Chase Grid was also decided during the wild evening. When Ryan Newman was caught up in a late race wreck which brought out the red flag, initiated by Carl Edwards and Tony Stewart, his hopes effectively ended, ensuring McMurray, Dillon and Elliott all qualified. A lead-lap finish for Chris Buescher was also enough to ensure he finished in the top 30 in points, meaning his Pocono victory does mean he will be in the 2016 Chase alongside all the other drivers who won a race this season.

The Chase gets underway next weekend at Chicagoland Speedway. In the next 3 races, the field of 16 is cut to 12, with places in the next round made up of drivers who won one of those races, and those with the most points in that time. Drivers also get 3 bonus points for every race they won during the regular season, giving Kyle Busch and Brad Keselowski a 12-point advantage over drivers including Chase Elliott and Austin Dillon.

Image – foxsports.com

Top 10 Results

1.       Denny Hamlin

2.       Kyle Larson

3.       Martin Truex Jr

4.       Brad Keselowski

5.       Kevin Harvick

6.       Kasey Kahne

7.       Jamie McMurray

8.       Kurt Busch

9.       Kyle Busch

10.     Joey Logano


2016 Chase Grid

Brad Keselowski – 4 wins
Kyle Busch – 4 wins
Denny Hamlin – 3 wins
Kevin Harvick – 2 wins
Carl Edwards – 2 wins
Martin Truex Jr – 2 wins
Matt Kenseth – 2 wins
Jimmie Johnson – 2 wins
Joey Logano – 1 win
Kyle Larson – 1 win
Tony Stewart – 1 win
Kurt Busch – 1 win
Chris Buescher – 1 win
Chase Elliott – on points
Austin Dillon – on points
Jamie McMurray – on points


%d bloggers like this: