L&T Motorsport

Hinchcliffe wins at Long Beach

James Hinchcliffe has won the 43rd Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach for Schmidt Peterson.

The Canadian took his fifth-ever win overall after starting from 4th position and stayed in the mix when other drivers made aggressive moves or fell off, culminating in a relatively stress-free 1.494-second margin of victory of over Petersburg winner, Sebastian Bourdais, for Dale Coyne Racing.

Team Penske’s newest driver, Josef Newgarden, finished 3rd, followed by Ganassi’s, Scott Dixon 4th with reigning world Champion, Simon Pagenaud, who after starting in last position fought all the way to 5th.

Pole sitter Helio Castroneves finished in 9th after falling back to 6th at on lap 1. The Brazilian was unable to hold off Scott Dixon and Ryan Hunter-Reay.

Team Penske’s Will Power and Ganassi’s Charlie Kimball, bumped into each other on Turn 5 of the first lap, causing Kimball to collide into the wall, while Power managed to continue on to finish one lap down at 13th. Power has since criticised Kimball stating that he is ‘sick of that guy’ and he ‘ruined’ his championship at Watkins Glen last year.

Ed Carpenter’s J.R. Hildebrand took 11th place despite sustaining a broken bone in his left hand on the last lap after his car knocked against the car of Schmidt Peterson’s Mikhail Aleshin, who finished 12th.

Bourdais now leads Hinchcliffe by 19 points in the Championship, after having finished 1st and 2nd in the first two races.

The Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama will take place Sunday the 23rd of April in Birmingham, Alabama.

Provisional Results

  1. James Hinchcliffe
  2. Sebastien Bourdais
  3. Joesef Newgarden
  4. Scott Dixon
  5. Simon Pagenaud
  6. Ed Jones
  7. Carlos Munoz
  8. Spencer Pigot
  9. Helio Castroneves
  10. Graham Rahal
  11. JR Hildebrand
  12. Mikhail Aleshin
  13. Will Power
  14. Max Chilton
  15. Tony Kanaan
  16. Conor Daly
  17. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  18. Takuma Sato
  19. Alexander Rossi DNF
  20. Marco Andretti DNF
  21. Charlie Kimball DNF

For full Championship standings see http://www.indycar.com/Drivers

Photo: www.indycar.com

%d bloggers like this: