L&T Motorsport

From Last to First! Bourdais Wins Opener at St. Petersburg

Sebastian Bourdais wins the opening round of the 2017 IndyCar season, starting from last on the grid after a crash in qualifying. The Frenchman, who returns to Dale Coyne Racing after 5 years took his 36th win after leading 69 of the 110 laps, following a full course caution that bunched up the field after a collision between Kanaan and Aleshin. Fellow Frenchman and reigning Champion, Simon Pagenaud, finished 2nd after failing to catch Bourdais, with New Zealander Scott Dixon finishing the podium in 3rd. Andretti Autosport team mates, Ryan Hunter-Reay, who’s car had to be rebuilt following a crash in the warm up session, and Takuma Sato rounded out the top five.

Team Penske driver, Helio Castroneves, finished 6th, making up ten places after a poor qualifying left him in 16th. Andretti, Newgarden and Hinchcliffe, finished 7th, 8th and 9th respectively. After qualifying 19th Bourdais’ rookie team mate, Ed Jones, ended up in 10th, with the Emirati running 3rd at one point.

Pole sitter, Will Power, who was classified as 19th, suffered a terrible race, was penalized with a drive through penalty for running over an air hose and was later black flagged for driving too slowly.

Bourdais’ victory gives Dale Coyne its first win since 2014, and gives Honda, who only won two of sixteen races last season, an early lead over Chevrolet in the manufacturer’s championship.

UPDATE: Scott Dixon has criticised race control for calling the caution, believing that it ‘fabricated’ the running order.

The Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach will take place Sunday the 9th of April in California.

Provisional Results

  1. Sebastien Bourdais
  2. Simon Pagenaud
  3. Scott Dixon
  4. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  5. Takuma Sato
  6. Helio Castroneves
  7. Marco Andretti
  8. Josef Newgarden
  9. James Hinchcliffe
  10. Ed Jones
  11. Alexander Rossi
  12. Tony Kanaan
  13. JR Hildebrand
  14. Mikhail Aleshin
  15. Conor Daly
  16. Max Chilton
  17. Graham Rahal
  18. Charlie Kimball
  19. Will Power
  20. Spencer Pigot
  21. Carlos Munoz

For full Championship standings see http://www.indycar.com/Drivers

Photo: www.indycar.com

%d bloggers like this: