L&T Motorsport

Miraculous Mir dominates in Le Mans

Moto3 Championship leader Joan Mir took advantage of his rival’s errors to win the French Grand Prix, extending his series lead to a comfortable 34 points. Aron Canet and Fabio Di Giannantonio recovered from poor starting positions to take creditable podiums, although over five seconds behind the Leopard rider.

It was pole man Jorge Martin who took the holeshot ahead of Romano Fenati and Mir. A four rider pile up at the back of the field resulted in oil being leaked onto the track and when the leaders started their second lap carnage ensued as 15+ riders slid off into the gravel at turn six because of the oil spilled on the track. Race direction had no other option but to put out a red flag and the race was shortened to a 16-lap race.

Martin once again got a fantastic start in race two, taking the holeshot ahead of Fenati and Juanfran Guevara. It wasn’t long however before Fenati made his way past the Gresini rider and immediately started opening a small advantage. Disaster struck for the pole man with 13 laps to go as a high side out of turn 6 left the Spaniard kicking himself in the gravel.

Fenati was beginning to come under pressure from the charging Mir with 11 laps to go, but a rare error form the Italian rider at turn 7 saw him slide out of the race, leaving Mir with a growing two second gap.

With Mir having an unassailable gap out front, the chasers behind engaged in a Moto3 classic as they duelled for the final two podium places. Marcos Ramirez and Darryn Binder proved that Jerez wasn’t a fluke race as they diced their way with the top contenders. Aron Canet, Fabio Di Giannantonio, Juanfran Guevara, Enea Bastianini, Jules Danilo, wildcard Danny Kent and Andrea Migno were also involved in the titanic duel for the podium.

Meanwhile at the front, Mir cruised to his third victory of the season and extended his World Championship lead to a healthy 34 points. Over the line, it was Canet who battled his early on through the field to take an impressive second place ahead of the Italian sensation Di Giannantonio who rounded out the podium.

A late crash for Binder ruined his incredible race but teammate Ramirez picked up the pieces just as he did in Jerez to finish a fantastic fourth. RBA Racing’s Guevara took a career best fifth ahead of Bastianini and French hero Jules Danilo who completed his home Grand Prix in a solid seventh. 

Andrea Migno finished eighth ahead of Bo Bendsneyder, who beat 2015 world champion and wildcard teammate Danny Kent for ninth position. Jakub Kornfeil recovered from his race one crash to finish 11th, with John Mcphee, Nakarin Atiratphuvapat, Lorenzo Dalla Porta and Marco Bezzecchi rounding out the rest of the point scorers.

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 36 Joan MIR SPA Leopard Racing Honda 145.4 27’37.830
2 20 44 Aron CANET SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda 145.0 +4.252
3 16 21 Fabio DI GIANNANTONIO ITA Del Conca Gresini Moto3 Honda 145.0 +4.365
4 13 42 Marcos RAMIREZ SPA Platinum Bay Real Estate KTM 145.0 +4.469
5 11 58 Juanfran GUEVARA SPA RBA BOE Racing Team KTM 144.9 +4.845
6 10 33 Enea BASTIANINI ITA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda 144.9 +5.463
7 9 95 Jules DANILO FRA Marinelli Rivacold Snipers Honda 144.9 +5.652
8 8 16 Andrea MIGNO ITA SKY Racing Team VR46 KTM 144.8 +5.821
9 7 64 Bo BENDSNEYDER NED Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 144.8 +6.049
10 6 52 Danny KENT GBR Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 144.8 +6.193
11 5 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Peugeot MC Saxoprint Peugeot 144.7 +7.504
12 4 17 John MCPHEE GBR British Talent Team Honda 144.6 +8.741
13 3 41 Nakarin ATIRATPHUVAPAT THA Honda Team Asia Honda 144.0 +16.006
14 2 48 Lorenzo DALLA PORTA ITA Aspar Mahindra Moto3 Mahindra 143.9 +16.405
15 1 12 Marco BEZZECCHI ITA CIP Mahindra 143.9 +16.514
16 11 Livio LOI BEL Leopard Racing Honda 143.9 +16.639
17 8 Nicolo BULEGA ITA SKY Racing Team VR46 KTM 143.9 +16.752
18 96 Manuel PAGLIANI ITA CIP Mahindra 143.9 +16.996
19 71 Ayumu SASAKI JPN SIC Racing Team Honda 143.9 +17.046
20 6 Maria HERRERA SPA AGR Team KTM 143.9 +17.206
21 65 Philipp OETTL GER Südmetall Schedl GP Racing KTM 142.9 +28.501
22 14 Tony ARBOLINO ITA SIC58 Squadra Corse Honda 142.5 +33.398
23 4 Patrik PULKKINEN FIN Peugeot MC Saxoprint Peugeot 141.8 +42.059
%d bloggers like this: