L&T Motorsport

Newgarden Wins from 7th!

Team Penske’s rising star, Joseph Newgarden claimed victory at the Barber Motorsport Park despite qualifying a disappointing 7th after his team mates took a 1, 2, 3 on Saturday. This win marks, Newgarden’s first win for Penske after replacing Montoya this season. The Tennessee born driver took the lead following his team mate, Will Power’s, puncture fifteen laps before the finish.

Four time Champion, Scott Dixon managed to claim 2nd after starting 4th on the grid. While he put in a strong performance he failed to catch Newgarden, however he now sits just 6 points behind Championship leader, Sebastian Bourdais.

Reigning Champion, Simon Pagenaud rounds out the podium while former F1 driver, Alexander Rossi managed 5th after a disastrous 18th in qualifying.

Only two cautions occurred during the race, one after Ryan Hunter-Reay hit James Hinchcliffe leaving debris on the track and for a spin by Ed Carpenter Racing’s Spencer Pigot.

F1 star and two time Champion, Fernando Alonso, was also in attendance ahead of his Indy 500 debut on the 28th of May. The Spaniard has been photographed sitting in an Andretti as he prepares himself for testing next month.

The Desert Diamond West Valley Phoenix Grand Prix will take place on Sunday the 29th of April in Avondale, Arizona.

Provisional Results

1 – Josef Newgarden
2 – Scott Dixon
3 – Simon Pagenaud
4 – Helio Castroneves
5 – Alexander Rossi
6 – James Hinchcliffe
7 – Tony Kanaan
8 – Sebastien Bourdais
9 – Takuma Sato
10 – Mikhail Aleshin
11 – Ryan Hunter-Reay
12 – Max Chilton
13 – Graham Rahal
14 – Will Power
15 – Charlie Kimball
16 – Ed Jones
17 – Carlos Munoz
18 – Conor Daly
19 – Zach Veach
20 – Spencer Pigot
21 – Marco Andretti

For full Championship standings see http://www.indycar.com/Drivers

Photo: www.indycar.com

%d bloggers like this: