L&T Motorsport



The DAMS driver started on reverse grid pole and defended late on from Luca Ghiotto to take his 5th podium of the season. Latifi was cruising at the front until lap 19 when Campos driver Ralph Boschung spun and crashed on the hanger straight trying to pass Alexander Albon. The safety car was deployed and thanks to the speedy Silverstone marshal’s, ┬áthere was one final lap of green flag racing. Despite this, Latifi held onto his first win of Formula 2.

Luca Ghiotto had a brilliant start and jumped Jordan King and nearly jumped Latifi. However, after the start, Ghiotto just saw Latifi pull away from the pack.

Oliver Rowland started 6th but managed to be in 3rd position by turn 1. However at turn 3, Rowland and Jordan King went side by side, Rowland didn’t see King in his mirrors and they both made contact which resulted in Jordan King retiring. Rowland lost momentum and Artem Markelov tried to seize an opportunity but Rowland defended hard and pushed Markelov on the grass. Rowland was given a 5 second time penalty for the Markelov incident and eventually finish in 10th position despite crossing the line in 4th.

Markelov passed Oliver Rowland on the final lap to ensure that he was on the podium and pass Rowland in the championship but it was behind Markelov where some drama occurred. Sergio Canamasas passed Charles Leclerc on the outside of club to give the Spainard a strong 4th position and demote the championship leader to 5th.

Norman Nato had a fairly quiet race as he could not keep up with the guys at the front but was pulling away from his teammate Sean Gelael. Gelael was looking on course for 2 points in 7th position but the Arden driver spun his car on the restart which promoted Nyck De Vries to a stunning 7th after starting 20th and Nobuharu Matsushita to the final points in 8th.

The Top 10:

  1. Nicholas Latifi- DAMS
  2. Luca Ghiotto- RUSSIAN TIME
  3. Artem Markelov- RUSSIAN TIME
  4. Sergio Canamasas- Rapax
  5. Charles Leclerc- PREMA
  6. Norman Nato- Arden
  7. Nyck De Vries- Rapax
  8. Nobuharu Matsushita- ART
  9. Gustav Malja- Racing Engineering
  10. Oliver Rowland- DAMS

Image: www.fiaformula2.com

%d bloggers like this: