L&T Motorsport

Power wins at the ‘Tricky Triangle’

Following the postponement of the race due to Sunday’s rain, Team Penske’s Will Power claimed victory at Pocono Raceway after starting from 8th.

Power’s win cut the lead of Team Penske teammate and Championship leader, Simon Pagenaud to 20 points in the standings with only three races remaining in the season.

The Australian driver outlasted Mikhail Aleshin, the Russian who on Saturday claimed his first ever pole, and held off hard-charging Ryan Hunter-Reay.

After starting from the back, following a crash in Free Practice resulting in him not being able to set a qualification time, last year’s winner, Hunter-Reay managed to make it to first and was actually leading when his engine shut down. Despite this he managed to finish in 3rd.

Championship leader Simon Pagenaud hit the wall coming out of turn 1 on lap 157 after his No. 22 Chevy bottomed out. He lost the steering and hit the wall hard.

Defending Champion, Scott Dixon finished 6th. The New Zealander now sits 4th in the standings.

Team Penske’s Juan Pablo Montoya, finished 8th.Having not won since his season opening win at St. Petersburg last year’s championship runner up appears to be out of this year’s title hunt.

AJ Foyt Racing’s Takuma Sato spun and made heavy contact with the Turn 3 Barrier. Sato got out of the car unaided and was checked, cleared and released from the infield care centre.

During the second round of pit stops a crash occurred in the pits involving three drivers. Alexander Rossi had just come out of his pit stall when he made contact with Charlie Kimball, who was making his way into his stall. The impact launched Rossi’s Honda up into the air, and his car passed over on top of Helio Castroneves’ car. However no one was injured in the incident. Castroneves was classified 19th, and drops from third to fifth in points, 113 behind Pagenaud.

In honour of Justin Wilson, JW was painted on the track at the finish line and Union Jacks flew at half-staff. Both Wilson and open-wheel driver Bryan Clauson, who was killed two weeks ago in a crash in Kansas, were remembered in the pre-race prayer and with a moment of silence.

The 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series championship is coming to an end, with just three races remaining to decide who will hoist the Astor Cup.

The rescheduled Texas Motor Speedway takes place next weekend with qualifying on Friday at 10:15 p.m. BST and the race on Sunday at 2:35 a.m. BST.

Provisional Results

1. Will Power
2. Mikhail Aleshin
3. Ryan Hunter-Reay
4. Josef Newgarden
5. Sebastien Bourdais
6. Scott Dixon
7. Carlos Munoz
8. Juan Pablo Montoya
9. Tony Kanaan
10. James Hinchcliffe
11. Graham Rahal
12. Marco Andretti
13. Max Chilton
14. Jack Hawksworth
15. Charlie Kimball
16. Conor Daly
17. Pippa Mann
18. Simon Pagenaud DNF
19. Helio Castroneves DNF
20. Alexander Rossi DNF
21. Ed Carpenter DNF
22. Takuma Sato DNF

For full Championship standings see http://www.indycar.com/Drivers

Photo: www.indycar.com

%d bloggers like this: