L&T Motorsport

Rahal Wins Over Two Months Later!

Graham Rahal takes victory from James Hinchcliffe by 0.0080 of a second, one of the closest finishes in IndyCar history. The Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing driver claimed his only win this season in Texas completing the race over two months after the original scheduled 248 lap event was stopped after 71 laps. Chip Ganassi’s Tony Kanaan rounded out the podium finishing 0.0903 off the lead.

The race resumed after a 76 day postponement with Arrow Electronics Honda’s Hinchcliffe leading the field on the lap 74 restart. The remaining 174 laps provided an absolute thrill show as Hinchcliffe and Rahal fought it out all the way to the chequered flag, with Rahal passing Hinchcliffe on Turn 3 of the final lap that led him to earn his fourth career win. For Hinchcliffe, 2nd has been his best finish of 2016.

Championship leader Simon Pagenaud finished 4th, increasing his lead to 28 points against his Team Penske teammate Will Power, who finished 8th.

Defending Champion, Scott Dixon collided with Ed Carpenter on the front straightaway, sending Dixon into the barrier while Carpenter managed to continue on in 2nd place. However this was short lived as he crashed on out on lap 224. A later incident occurred when last week’s winner, Mikhail Aleshin spun and collected Jack Hawksworth on lap 232 and brought out the final caution of the race. Eight laps later on lap 240 the restart led to a nine lap sprint to the chequered flag.

The rescheduled Texas Motor Speedway was the final oval track on the calendar. Nine drivers remain mathematically alive for the championship with two races remaining in the 2016 season, Watkins Glen and Sonoma.

The penultimate round will take place next weekend in Watkins Glen, New York.

Provisional Results

1. Graham Rahal
2. James Hinchcliffe
3. Tony Kanaan
4. Simon Pagenaud
5. Helio Castroneves
6. Charlie Kimball
7. Carlos Munoz
8. Will Power
9. Juan Pablo Montoya
10. Sebastien Bourdais
11. Alexander Rossi
12. Marco Andretti
13. Ryan Hunter-Reay
14. Gabby Chaves
15. Max Chilton
16. Mikhail Aleshin DNF
17. Jack Hawksworth DNF
18. Ed Carpenter DNF
19. Scott Dixon DNF
20. Takuma Sato DNF
21. Conor Daly DNF
22. Josef Newgarden DNF

For full Championship standings see http://www.indycar.com/Drivers

Photo: www.indycar.com

%d bloggers like this: