L&T Motorsport

Rea does the double in Australia.

The early hours of Sunday morning (GMT) saw the World Superbike grid line up once more for the second race of the weekend.

Alex Lowes started on pole position, ahead of Leon Camier and Xavi Fores, thanks to the brand new grid format that has come into play for the 2017 season.

Although there were some strong battles to begin with, it wasn’t long before Rea climbed to the top to take the lead from Fores. Chaz Davies began picking off the pack one by one, and comfortably took second behind Rea with 16 laps to go.

But it wasn’t just a battle between these two fierce competitors  – Melandri was quietly sneaking up on the leading two and was intent on ruffling feathers.

In the end, it was Jonathan Rea that brought it home to make race two his 40th WSBK career win. Chaz Davies came in second, and Melandri rounded out the podium just 0.249 behind Davies.

Tom Sykes only came in 6th, which at this point in the season, may be a major disadvantage when WSBK is in full swing.

It appears that it will take a while for the Honda duo of Nicky Hayden and Stefan Bradl to get the bike working for them, as Bradl finished in 15th and Hayden crashed 14 laps in. He has since been declared unfit due to an injury to his left knee.

WSBK heads to the Chang International circuit in Thailand on the 10th March for another exciting round. Be sure to tune in on Eurosport!

World Superbike race two results:

Jonathan Rea – Kawasaki Racing Team

Chaz Davies – Aruba.it Ducati + 0.025s

Marco Melandri – Aruba.it Ducati + 0.249s

Alex Lowes – Pata Yamaha Official WSBK Team – + 0.956s

Xavi Fores – BARNI Racing Team – + 2.320s

Tom Sykes – Kawasaki Racing Team – + 4.781s

Michael van der Mark – Pata Yamaha Official WSBK Team – + 7.307s

Leon Camier – MV Agusta Reparto Corse – + 9.756s

Lorenzo Savadori – Milwaukee Aprilia – + 11.135s

Eugene Laverty – Milwaukee Aprilia – + 20.123s


Nicky Hayden – Red Bull Honda World Superbike Team – 14 laps

Ayrton Badovini – Grillini Racing Team – 15 laps

Riccardo Russo – Guandalini Racing – 20 laps

(photo credit: telegraph.co.uk)

%d bloggers like this: