L&T Motorsport

Rea takes race 2 victory at Donington Park

It was the final day of the UK World Superbike championship round, and all eyes turned to Tom Sykes to see whether he could take his 10th consecutive win at Donington Park.

He started in 9th, but made a steady progression through the grid once the race was underway, unlike his team mate Jonathan Rea who shot into 2nd from 10th by the end of the first lap.

The early departure of wildcard Leon Haslam came on lap 2, after a run in with Leandro Mercado as he recovered from his own wobble. As Mercado rode off into the distance, Haslam was left fuming in the gravel. Chaz Davies also got caught up in the incident, as he ran off track but fortunately managed to keep it upright and rejoined in 15th.

It was a pretty straight forward race from there, and the only real ‘drama’ we saw was on lap 9, where Marco Melandri’s chain broke, forcing him to retire from the race.

While all this was going on, Rea was sneaking away at the front and Sykes was desperately trying to catch him. But when all was said and done, it was Rea who took the win, snatching all chances of Sykes adding to his wins at the circuit. After his run off, Davies recovered supremely well to take the final podium spot.

World Superbike race 2 results:

Jonathan Rea, Kawasaki Racing Team – 33:53.138

Tom Sykes, Kawasaki Racing Team + 1.601

Chaz Davies, Aruba.it Racing Ducati + 12.200

Michael van der Mark, Pata Yamaha Official WSBK Team + 12.984

Alex Lowes, Pata Yamaha Official WSBK Team + 18.953

Leon Camier, MV Agusta Reparto Corse + 23.971

Xavi Fores, BARNI Racing Team + 29.892

Roman Ramos, Team Kawasaki Go Eleven + 44.742

Jake Dixon, Royal Air Force Reg. & Res. Kawasaki + 50.622 (wildcard)

Raffaele De Rosa, Althea BMW Racing Team + 51.749

Stefan Bradl, Red Bull Honda World Superbike + 59.459

Riccardo Russo, Guandalini Racing + 1:12.794

Ondrej Jezek, Grillini Racing Team + 1:22.719

Ayrton Badovini, Grillini Racing Team + 5 laps


Lorenzo Savadori, Milwaukee Aprilia – 8 laps

Marco Melandri, Aruba.it Racing Ducati – 15 laps

Leandro Mercado, IODARacing – 15 laps

Jordi Torres, Althea BMW Racing Team – 18 laps

Eugene Laverty, Milwaukee Aprilia – 20 laps

Alex De Angelis, Pedercini Racing SC-Project – 21 laps

Leon Haslam, Kawasaki Puccetti Racing – 22 laps

Randy Krummenacher, Kawasaki Puccetti Racing – 0


photo: bbc.co.uk

%d bloggers like this: