L&T Motorsport

Scott Dixon takes pole for the Indy 500

Four times Champion, Scott Dixon, takes pole for the Indy 500 after topping the fast 9 on Sunday night. The New Zealander posted 232.164 mph average lap speed just 0.5 ahead of 2nd placed oval veteran Ed Carpenter, with last year’s winner, Alexander Rossi finishing the front row with an average lap speed of 231.487 mph.

This is the Ganassi racer’s third Indy 500 pole and he now takes the record for fastest pole speed, beating Tony Stewart’s average of 233.160 in 1996.

F1 star, Fernando Alonso took 5th on the second row with an average lap speed of 231.300 mph. The two time F1 world champion made it into the Fast 9 after coming an impressive 7th in qualifying on Saturday.

The 101st Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil takes place at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Speedway, Indiana on Sunday the 28th of May at 5:00 p.m. BST. Can Fernando Alonso make history and win the 101st Indy 500?

Provisional Grid

  1. Scott Dixon
  2. Ed Carpenter
  3. Alexander Rossi
  4. Takuma Sato
  5. Fernando Alonso
  6. JR Hildebrand
  7. Tony Kanaan
  8. Marco Andretti
  9. Will Power
  10. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  11. Ed Jones
  12. Oriol Servia
  13. Mikhail Aleshin
  14. Graham Rahal
  15. Max Chilton
  16. Charlie Kimball
  17. James Hinchcliffe
  18. Juan Pablo Montoya
  19. Helio Castroneves
  20. Jay Howard
  21. Sage Karam
  22. Josef Newgarden
  23. Simon Pagenaud
  24. Carlos Munoz
  25. Gabby Chaves
  26. Conor Daly
  27. Jack Harvey
  28. Pippa Mann
  29. Spencer Pigot
  30. Buddy Lazier
  31. Sebastian Saavedra
  32. Zach Veach
  33. James Davison (Filling in for Sebastian Bourdais)


For clarification on IndyCar’s qualifying procedures see http://www.indycar.com/Fan-Info/INDYCAR-101/Understanding-The-Sport/Qualfiying-Procedures

Photo: www.indycar.com

Diarmuid Hourihane

Diarmuid is a 25 year old qualified Business teacher from Co. Cork, Ireland. Covers IndyCar qualifying and race days for the L&T website. He also has been an F1 fan since childhood.

%d bloggers like this: