L&T Motorsport

Smith Dominants Thruxton Test

Jeff Smith topped both sessions this afternoon
(Photo from: www.btcc.net)

Jeff Smith topped both sessions of the day at Thruxton TOCA test day this afternoon as teams learnt as much as they could around the Hampshire circuit with RML parts and the new wider tyres for 2017.

Smith, who took a surprise pole at the first weekend at Brands Hatch, was fastest in front of Adam Morgan and Jake Hill in the first session with the trio all continuing their fine starts to the season before being fastest in front of a trio of Honda Civic Type-R’s in the second session, as he beat reigning champion Gordon Shedden into second, who was then followed by his Eurotech teammate Jack Goff in third with Matt Neal rounding out the top four in his own Halfords Yuasa Racing Honda.

Smith’s pace was even more impressive as he set a time with an average speed of over 110mph in both sessions, on what is Britain’s fastest circuit.

Smith was quoted in saying after he topped the second session “It’s quite a hard thing to get around Thruxton. There’s obviously a lot of high speed areas where you need stability in the car and then there’s the technical areas where you need good rotation so it’s hard to find that compromise between the two”

There were other strong showings for the Motorbase drivers as Luke Davenport finished fourth in the opening session with teammate Martin Depper sixth. Senna Proctor also showed promising pace, finishing fifth in the opening session of the day.

Current series champion Tom Ingram was a little off the pace in the first session as he finished 14th however in the second session he upped his pace and finished ninth.

Out of the 32 car field 21 cars were in attendance with only MG, Subaru, AmD Tuning and Tom Chilton missing the session.



55 Jeff Smith  
33 Adam Morgan   +0.319
24 Jake Hill   0.480
300 Luke Davenport   +0.521
18 Senna Proctor   +0.546
30 Martin Depper   +0.554
31 Jack Goff   +0.567
25 Matt Neal   +0.729
4 Colin Turkington   +0.834
16 Aiden Moffat   +0.837



55 Jeff Smith  
52 Gordon Shedden   +0.095
31 Jack Goff   +0.151
25 Matt Neal   +0.273
16 Aiden Moffat   +0.662
33 Adam Morgan   +0.772
24 Jake Hill   +0.850
77 Andrew Jordan   +0.913
80 Tom Ingram   +1.017
4 Colin Turkington   +1.088


%d bloggers like this: