L&T Motorsport

Sutton wins action-packed second race!

Ashley Sutton passed Team BMR team mate Jason Plato to take victory in race two of the day at Knockhill, in a reverse of the 1-2 finish that Adrian Flux Subaru Racing managed in race 1. Sutton pulled off a fantastic switchback at the hairpin to drag alongside Plato on the start/finish straight, completing the move by passing Plato into Duffus Dip. 3rd to 5th didn’t change from race 1 with Turkington, Collard and Price completing the top 5. Josh Price originally finished in seventh place to give Adrian Flux Subaru Racing all 4 of its cars in the top 7, however was excluded from the result for a driving standards infringement.

The race got off to carnage-filled start, resulting in a red flag on the first lap. On the run down to Duffus Dip from the start, a late-braking Pirtek BMW of Andrew Jordan tapped the rear of the Halfords Yuasa Racing Honda of Matt Neal, sending the BMW into the Power Maxed Racing car of Senna Proctor. The rookie (Proctor) spun around and was stationary at the bottom of Duffus Dip in the middle of the road, while Jordan collected Dave Newsham (who was lucky to escape virtually unscathed) on the way to beaching himself in the gravel. Many would say Jordan got of lightly of the two involved in the initial contact however, as Proctor was collected head on by the Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport Ford Focus of Stephen Jelley, destroying the front ends of both cars, and earning them both a trip to the medical centre. Luckily, both were relatively problem free, Jelley reportedly left a little “uncomfortable” after impact from the seatbelt. Josh Cook also retired before the restart, after contact in the consortia effect, breaking a steering plate. Despite the MG Racing RCIB Insurance Team’s best efforts, producing a very colourful tape display in efforts to fix the front end of the MG, Cook was unable to take the restart.

Amazingly, those were the only 4 retirements from the stoppage, and to say that only 22 cars finished, an action-filled restarted race led to an additional 6 retirements. Adam Morgan was unable to take the initial start, with a leaking power steering fluid pipe. The red flag gave Ciceley Motorsport team time to fix the pipe and get the Mercedes out for the restart, at the back, which they managed. However, Adam retired 4 laps into the race, leaking fluid around the track as he did so. Rob Austin pulled into the pits after the green flag laps for the restart, and although initially going back out, he pulled off before being able to be classified as in the restarted race.

The next incident came from Eurotech’s Jack Goff, and MG Racing RCIB Insurance’s Aron Taylor-Smith. The MG tried to make a move up the inside of the Honda coming out of the hairpin, but made heavy contact with the right-rear of the Eurotech car, immediately breaking the suspension, and causing significant damage to cause the MG to also retire.

The last incident resulting in a retirement was the culmination of a near race-long battle between Halfords Yuasa Racing’s veteran Matt Neal and Adrian Flux Subaru Racing’s rookie Josh Price. The two had been battling hard and swapping places for much of the race. However, this all came to an end 8 laps before the flag, with contact between the two on the run down to Duffus Dip, sending the Honda man spinning into the gravel at the top of the dip, and out of contention.

An impressive drive to note, was the replacement for the injured Luke Davenport at Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo, Rory Butcher. The local Scotsman, brother-in-law to triple and reigning BTCC Champion Gordon Shedden, and son of the owner of Knockhill Circuit, produced an impressive display at his home circuit to finish tenth. This put him in the final slot in the draw for the reverse grid, and as if it couldn’t be any better for the Scotsman to get a top-10 finish on his debut weekend, he was drawn on pole position for race 3, as Motorsport Vlogger Tim Burton (aka Shmee150 on Youtube) drew the magic number 10. This changed post race with Josh Price’s exclusion and will now have Ant Whorton-Eales on pole, with Butcher alongside in P2.

Round 21 of the Championship will be at 5.10pm, live on ITV4, ITV.com and BTCC.net. LTMSport’s twitter account will also have live updates and commentary.

Result of Round 20 of the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship

1. Ashley Sutton – Adrian Flux Subaru Racing

2. Jason Plato – Adrian Flux Subaru Racing

3. Colin Turkington – Team BMW

4. Rob Collard – Team BMW

5. James Cole – Adrian Flux Subaru Racing

6. Gordon Shedden – Halfords Yuasa Racing

7. Dave Newsham – BTC Norlin Racing

8. Tom Ingram – Speedworks Motorsport

9. Rory Butcher – Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo

10. Ant Whorton-Eales – AmDtuning.com with Cobra Exhausts

11. Martin Depper – Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo

12. Tom Chilton – Power Maxed Racing

13. Matt Simpson – Simpson Racing

14. Chris Smiley – BTC Norlin Racing

15. Aiden Moffat – Laser Tools Racing

16. Mat Jackson – Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo

17. Mike Epps – Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing

18. Brett Smith – Eurotech Racing

19. Ollie Jackson – AmDtuning.com with Cobra Exhausts

20. Will Burns – Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing

21. Stewart Lines – Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport

DNF Matt Neal – Halfords Yuasa Racing

DNF Aron Taylor-Smith – MG Racing  RCIB Insurance

DNF Jack Goff – Eurotech Racing

DNF Jake Hill – TAG Racing

DNF Adam Morgan – Ciceley Motorsport

DNF Stephen Jelley – Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport

DNF Rob Austin – Handy Motorsport

DNF Senna Proctor – Power Maxed Racing

DNF Josh Cook – MG Racing RCIB Insurance

DNF Andrew Jordan – BMW Pirtek Racing

DSQ Josh Price – Adrian Flux Subaru Racing

%d bloggers like this: