L&T Motorsport

Tockwith Motorsport take inaugural win in British Prototype Cup

Tockwith Motorsport duo Nigel Moore and Philip Hanson take a historic first win of the new Prototype Cup series at Snetterton.

The duo dominated from the start, with their #26 Ligier LMP3 seeming to be in perfect working form during the 60 minute period.

In second place was Bradley Smith and Christian England. They finished 22.293 seconds behind the lead pair in the West-Tec entered Ligier.

The start was near on perfect for the Tockwith Motorsport, with Hanson creating a 10 second gap from pole position at the end of the first lap.

After the initial get away, European LMP3 champ Christian England began to bring the gap to the leader down. He managed to halve the I ital gap to five seconds just before the mandatory round of pit stops.

Hanson was first to pit, with the English outfit wanting Moore to get plenty of time in the car after a dominant stint from Hanson.

Shaun Lynn in the Gulf-Liveried United Autosport Ligier decided to stay out for an extra lap, inheriting the lead for that lap alone.

When Lynn pitted, order was restored at the top of the table with the Tockwith car and Moore streaking away from Smith.

Moore dominated the remainder of the race and took the chequered flag, it was even successful for the Tockwith as it was their first victory in LMP3 after near victories in the European Le Mans Series.

West-Tec came home in a deserved second place after the teams frantic weekend with mechanical problems and last minute driver changes.

In Third place was the United Autosports team of Jay Palmer and Wayne Boyd. The team where running in the midfield position for the majority of the race. But, when Palmer handed the car over to Boyd he put in the fastest lap of the race on his was to the final podium spot.

Fourth place went to Team West-Tec and the Belgian/English pairing of Jacques Duyver and Charlie Hollings, who’s Ligier JS finished 1 minute 20 seconds behind the leader.

Rounding out the top five was the second of the four-car United Autosports team consisting of American duo Guy Cosmo and Patrick Byrne. Cosmo did well to hold off a charging Thomas Randle in the Douglas Motorsports car towards the end of the race.

Randle was making up for lost time as he had 10 second stop go penalty for a pit lane infringement. He finished in sixth.

In seventh place was Shaun Lynn in the Gulf-Liveried Ligier and a lap down.

(image: prototypecup.com)

%d bloggers like this: