L&T Motorsport

Wayne Taylor Racing takes overall win at 2017 Sebring 12 Hours

Wayne Taylor Racing has won the unofficial ’36 Hours of Florida’ by adding the Sebring 12 Hours to its Daytona 24 Hours victory this year.

The Taylor brothers Ricky and Jordan shared the #10 car with Alex Lynn, who put in an impressive performance which helped WTR get the win.

It endured a hard-fought battle with the #5 Action Express Cadillac DPi, driven by Felipe Albuquerque, Joao Barbosa and Christian Fittipaldi, but the Konica Minolta machine took the lead in the eighth hour by short-fuelling the car in the pits.

The two swapped positions out on track, but the score was settled after an opportunistic move by Jordan Taylor as he slipped down the inside of Felipe Albuquerque while the latter was held up by a GTD Mercedes in T17.

The #10 WTR Cadillac DPi retained the lead from then on, and Ricky Taylor went on to take the victory for the team after comfortably fending off Barbosa in the #5.

Completing the podium was the sister #31 Action Express machine, albeit two laps down on the leaders.

The best of the LMP2 machines was the #85 JDC-Miller MotorSports ORECA which finished four laps down in fourth position overall.

The polesitting Rebellion Racing ORECA had numerous mechanical woes, hindering its challenge for the win. It was a similar story for both ESM Nissan DPi’s, which both failed to finish as a result of mechanical issues.


In the prototype challenge category, Performance Tech Motorsports took the win with a comfortable two lap margin over the Starworks Motorsport entry.


Corvette got its third straight Sebring GTLM class victory after Antonio Garcia put in a stellar drive towards the end of the race, overtaking the Fords to claim the win.

The #3 C7.R of Garcia, Magnussen and Rockenfeller were strong throughout the race, but really showed their pace in the cooler temperatures once the sun set over Sebring.

The #3 Corvette came alive when darkness descended over Sebring, with Garcia putting in a stellar performance. Photo: Credit to www.sportscar365.com

The victory came despite a late-race challenge from Patrick Pilet’s #911 Porsche, which then was knocked out of contention after a tyre puncture and went on to finish seventh.

Finishing second was the #66 Ford of Bourdais, Hand and Muller, with the #62 Risi Competizione Ferrari of Calado, Vilander and Fisichella completing the podium in third following a last-lap spin for Westbrook in the #67 Ford, which went on to finish fourth.


In the GT Daytona category, the #33 Mercedes AMG GT3 of Bleekemolen, Keating and Farnbacher took the win after overcoming a challenge for the lead from the #63 Ferrari of Alessandro Balsan, which skipped taking fresh tyres on its final stop.

It was ineffective, however, as Bleekemolen wasted no time in retaking the lead. In third position was the SunEnergy1Racing Mercedes, after a starring performance from Tristan Vautier.


Photo: Credit to LAT Photographic

Michael Haffenden

Second year Journalism student at the University of Kent, with a huge passion for Motorsport. Love all types of motor racing from F1 to touring cars but endurance and sportscar racing has to be my favourite.

Primarily cover IMSA United SportsCars for L&T Motorsport, but can be found writing about other series, including ELMS, WEC and 24H Series races.

%d bloggers like this: