L&T Motorsport

Whelen Engineering Cadillac wins thriller at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park

The #31 Whelen Engineering Cadillac of Dane Cameron and Eric Curran took the win behind the safety car at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park after a dramatic sprint race.

The Cadillac, run by Action Express Racing, finished ahead of the #85 JDC Miller Motorsports ORECA of Stephen Simpson, which took a second consecutive podium following another strong showing.

The #2 Extreme Speed Motorsports Nissan DPi of Ryan Dalziel completed the podium, taking third position following late-race contact between the #5 Action Express Cadillac of Joao Barbosa and the #85 ORECA of Simpson, with the former losing time after a half-spin from which he recovered.

#31 Whelen Engineering Cadillac takes victory behind the safety car.

The battle for the win in the Prototype category was close from the outset after the #10 Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac led the way from pole position in the hands of Ricky Taylor.

Throughout Taylor’s stint, the lead changed many times as he scrapped with the #85 ORECA of Misha Goikhberg, with some particularly close moments as the pair sliced through traffic.

The #85 ORECA of Goikhberg had a great battle with the #10 Cadillac. On this occasion he took the lead with a nudge after going on the grass through traffic.

This battle continued until just under an hour to go in the race, when the caution came out following heavy rain, debris on track and an issue for the #22 Nissan DPi of Pipo Derani.

This shook the field up drastically, with some opting to stay out on slicks, and others diving into the pit lane for wets.

Once the race got underway again, however, the track dried rapidly and those who stuck it out on slicks benefitted, with the #10 WTR Cadillac of Jordan Taylor taking the lead as those around him pitted to change back to slicks.

It looked as though the #10 Cadillac had the win in the bag with just over 20 minutes remaining, but Jordan Taylor was involved in a huge shunt in traffic which resulted in accident damage to the rear bodywork of the Cadillac, and a retirement for the #4 Corvette of Tommy Milner, who stepped out of his car seemingly unhurt.

Big accident in traffic for the leading #10 WTR Cadillac, which would eventually recover to finish seventh in class, two laps off the lead.

Once the race went green again, Cameron in the #31 Cadillac DPi took the lead as the #10 pitted for repairs, and held on to take the victory after a sudden downpour and an accident for the #52 Ligier of David Ostella brought out yet another caution.

The race finished behind the safety car as marshals helped Ostella out of his overturned LMP2 Ligier.

The #52 Ligier of David Ostella had this frightening accident on the final lap of the race, but got out of the car and appeared to be unharmed.


In the Prototype Challenge category, Patricio O’Ward took the win for the Performance Tech Motorsports team by a lap from Ryan Lewis in the BAR1 Motorsports entry.

Third, four laps down on the class leader, was Garett Grist in his ORECA FLM09.


In the premier GT class, the #25 BMW M6 of Alexander Sims took the win for the second time running, after victory at last weekend’s Sahlen’s Six Hours of the Glen.

Sims headed a BMW 1-2 in the class, after Patrick Pilet’s #911 Porsche was forced to retire late in the race after it had been running strongly in second position.

Completing the podium in GTLM was the #67 Ford GT of Richard Westbrook, with Chip Ganassi’s team once again stealing a podium despite not having the quickest car.

Fourth and fifth in the category went the way of the #3 Corvette of Antonio Garcia and the #66 Ford of Dirk Mueller respectively.

Gianmaria Bruni’s #912 Porsche finished sixth after the car he shares with Laurens Vanthoor was set back by another puncture, which had robbed the pair of a podium at last weekend’s Watkins Glen round.

The battle in GTLM was close throughout the race, but it was the #25 BMW of Sims that took its second consecutive win.


It was another close battle in the GT Daytona category, with the #57 Stevenson Motorsports Audi R8 LMS GT3 emerging victorious from the #93 Acura of Andy Lally, with Alessandro Balzan in the #63 Ferrari 488 GT3 taking third position.

Next was Jens Klingmann in the #96 Turner Motorsports BMW M6 GT3, with Sage Karam’s #14 Lexus RCF GT3 crossing the line fifth in class.

The polesitting #14 car led the way early in the race, but once the #57 Audi got into the lead it held onto it securely.



[Other images in article are screenshots taken from IMSA livestream]

Michael Haffenden

Second year Journalism student at the University of Kent, with a huge passion for Motorsport. Love all types of motor racing from F1 to touring cars but endurance and sportscar racing has to be my favourite.

Primarily cover IMSA United SportsCars for L&T Motorsport, but can be found writing about other series, including ELMS, WEC and 24H Series races.

%d bloggers like this: